Biblical Reflections: Online Social Platforms

#CommunityOutreach #OnlineSocialPlatform

#TimeSpentInTheQuietPlace

In a world where technology demonstrates everything if we overlook permissions or choose to broadcast our lives or personal time spent with God, problems arise amongst our circle of community including believers.

In this world we now live in I’ve noticed that during times of trial, our friends or family often rely on finding status updates online, rather than dropping by in person or making a phone call to check in on someone. During times when someone could appreciate their circle of support to get around them, online comments and emojis have become the preference when people choose to reach out.

There’s no denying that it would have been easier if Jesus mentioned the issues of what was to come when technology was the forefront of social interaction, but if we investigate the Word, we can find that there still would have been similar problems during His time in ministry.

Today, technology creates a platform that is easier for onlookers to reach out, without having to actually make an effort.

It also allows people to scroll through their newsfeed and choose whether someone has already been given plenty of emoji responses, so they don’t really need to reach out too.

This ability to be indifferent to make a comment or to connect with someone in person can also become dangerous when you might come across an emotional post online and decide that the person is just seeking attention or that you don’t really feel like investing your time into their situation today, because if you don’t comment, they won’t know that you’ve seen them reach out.

The parable Jesus taught about the Good Samaritan is one example where a man needed to reach out because he was robbed, stripped of his clothes and left for dead. However, when he did seek help and support to passers by, most of them chose to overlook his situation, gesturing that he was a man to be avoided as they intentionally walked on the other side of the road, as they made a poor judgement or decided that it was easier than becoming invested in his need.

“Jesus replied, “A man was going down from Jerusalem to Jericho, and he encountered robbers, who stripped him of his clothes [and belongings], beat him, and went their way [unconcerned], leaving him half dead. Now by coincidence a priest was going down that road, and when he saw him, he passed by on the other side. Likewise a Levite also came down to the place and saw him, and passed by on the other side [of the road]. But a Samaritan (foreigner), who was traveling, came upon him; and when he saw him, he was deeply moved with compassion [for him], and went to him and bandaged up his wounds, pouring oil and wine on them [to sooth and disinfect the injuries]; and he put him on his own pack-animal, and brought him to an inn and took care of him. On the next day he took out two denarii (two days’ wages) and gave them to the innkeeper, and said, ‘Take care of him; and whatever more you spend, I will repay you when I return.’ Which of these three do you think proved himself a neighbor to the man who encountered the robbers?” He answered, “The one who showed compassion and mercy to him.” Then Jesus said to him, “Go and constantly do the same.”” LUKE 10:30-37 AMP

I think one of our major problems that have lead to online outreach (which completely overlooks anyone that encounters financial difficulty and cannot use an online platform) is a problematic increase of busy lifestyles. The world is now fast-paced and further encourages the world to focus more on investing in self, rather than supporting others.

As a believer, I’ve also noticed a complex problem arise in devotional time spent with God when it is done online. On one hand, I do choose to set permissions for friends or family to read some posts about my devotional time spent with God because I‘m keen to encourage others or offer any fresh revelation I’ve encountered. On the other hand, I choose to spend time with God in quiet (keeping permissions closed), not because I’m afraid of what people might think or that I’m being selective for personal gain, but because sometimes it’s about me and Him. My love and time devoted to Him. My time to connect on a truely deep level that only God understands which I personally choose to write down because I tend to forget the time we’ve shared together.

I call myself a scatter brain, some say they have a spaghetti brain that sometimes hits a meatball. But maybe I’m just trying to making sense of many aspects of the world through His lenses faster than my brain can handle. I’m not really sure, but I do know that writing/typing online is a platform helpful to me, so I believe it’s not all bad, we just need to become wise about using it. And when it comes to outreach, I vote to actually connect with someone off the social platform. If they reach out there first, I believe that is their quickest way to connect with a broader audience because they don’t really know who would be best to connect with.

But let’s choose to make the phone call, visit the friend, and reach out to someone in person next to you that you can see is struggling, rather than spend time texting on your phone because it is easier than investing time in someone else’s world for a moment.

Leave a comment